School starts Monday

August 6, 2011 at 3:04 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Orientation day was on Thursday – “Super Thursday”  as we call in at our school. I spoke to a lot of parents and students who had signed up for the class. I explained that CS Principles is a Computer Science course for a student who may not want to major in CS. The overall reaction was very positive. Once student even exclaimed…. “I want to be a psychologist and so this is a perfect course for me”.

I handed out a copy of the COMPUTER SCIENCE COURSES And TRACKS document. It was exciting to see all the interest it has generated. On my website, I have a blurb about this course. Among other things, I have  created a comparison chart between the current curriculum  as given by our district / State and the Big Ideas in CS Principles. I have also created a pacing guide.  How much I follow this pacing guide depends on the class.

Monday we are going to start using LightBots 2.0 from Armor Games. After the 1st four tutorials getting students into small discussion groups should be interesting.  A 10 minute reflection should be appropriate.

More later once school starts….

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

