Creating Flash banners and slideshows

November 21, 2011 at 2:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

As a part of  our district retrofit, we now have the latest Adobe products on our computers! It almost seemed foolish to not take advantage of it. So I started on a Flash component. I told the students I wanted them to create animated banners which they would incorporate into their websites. I have told them the goal of this component of CS Principles is to eventually design a simple Flash game.

The challenge with Flash or any other Adobe product is that it is quite complicated to use. If students do not have step by step instructions, they become overwhelmed soon.  However I decided not to buy any books on Flash. They are likely to get outdated in a year or so. There are several online videos and tutorials on Flash. For a link to all of them please visit my Moodle site: http://nghsonline.com/login/index.php and click on Login as guest.

I saw a good bit of success this week. Students created a simple slideshow with their images. Then they created their own banners. The requirements were: create a simple rectangle, have some color, text and possibly an image that moves. I was very happy to see the projects that were submitted. I will be posting my best projects on my moodle page.

More updates on our CS Ed Week activities in my next blog.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

