Game Design and other happenings…

January 17, 2012 at 2:53 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Yes. Flash is an excellent tool to hook students into programming. It is visual it is scripting and gives students the thrill of creating a visually appealing project.

I asked the student to write requirements specifications for the game they are designing. They also had to come up with a flow chart that explained the flow of logic and their approach to designing the game.  Click here to see some samples.

Next week I am going to teach binary numbers. I am going to approach this differently. I recently read this book: CODE (The hidden language of Computer Hardware and Software). I have picked up some good ideas from this book which I am going to try and teach next week in class.

NCWIT Affiliate results have been announced. My Advanced Web Design student and Robotics Club – Vice President, Emily Ritter is one of the 20 women in Georgia who won! I am so excited and proud of her.  Emily was also nominated a finalist for the NCWIT Aspirations Award at the National level.

The FIRST Robotics Challenge for 2012 is “Rebound Rumble”. This robotics game is played between teams and the goal is to get as many basketballs in the hoops a possible during the 2 minute and 15 second match. The build season has begun. Our robotics students are busy brainstorming and building. There is a lot of excitement in the classroom as students some up with ideas and problem solve.

A lot is happening in the computer science area at school. I will continue updates next week when I have more information to report on my plans and progress.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.